HomeCOVID Travel NewsCyprus tightens entry rules for Ukraine by adding it to the red...

Cyprus tightens entry rules for Ukraine by adding it to the red list

Starting this week, travelers from Ukraine will have to undergo double testing to obtain permission to enter Cyprus, as the country has added Ukraine to its red list, according to SchengenVisaInfo.com.

Travelers arriving from the red category are subject to double testing, ie the traveler must provide a certificate of a negative PCR result obtained 72 hours before arrival in Cyprus and take the test upon arrival. In addition, the traveler must cover the cost of testing and remain in self-isolation until the test result is published.

The countries of the red category, as indicated in the risk assessment list of Cyprus, are listed below:

  • EU member states: Denmark, Ireland, Spain, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands and Portugal.
  • EU micro-states: Andorra and San Marino
  • Third countries: Egypt, Albania, Armenia, Georgia, the United Arab Emirates, Great Britain, Kuwait, Belarus, Montenegro, Moldova, Brunei, South Korea, Ukraine and Russia.

As previously reported by DIP.ORG.UA, Austria has introduced requirements for PCR testing for those arriving in Cyprus, along with Spain and the Netherlands. There was an increase in the number of coronavirus infections in the country, with 33.1% of them related to travel.

Recent data published by the World Health Organization (WHO) show that Cyprus has reported three deaths caused by the coronavirus and 851 positive cases with the virus. Since January 2020, 404 people have died in the country, 98,569 people have been infected with the virus.

Cyprus has a successful vaccination campaign: 71.7% of the population is vaccinated with a single dose of COVID, and 63.4% are fully immunized against coronavirus.

Fresh news

Related news