HomeSpainBecame known the details of obtaining a new Spanish visa

Became known the details of obtaining a new Spanish visa

Spain is one step closer to officially launching the Digital Nomad Visa program aimed at attracting foreign talent.

The digital nomad visa was approved at the Spanish Congress of Deputies plenary session in December 2022. At the same time, the authorities announced that they intended to introduce a new visa in 2023.

Although no official announcement has been made on further details, information should be available soon, and anyone planning to apply for a new remote worker visa is advised to familiarize themselves with the requirements and application rules in advance.

Who is eligible for the new digital nomad visa in Spain?

All non-European Union citizens who are self-employed or work outside of Spain are allowed to apply for the Digital Nomad visa.

Freelancers may also qualify for such a visa. However, this group of workers must not receive more than 20% of their income from companies in Spain.

To be eligible for the Spanish digital nomad visa, applicants must also meet the minimum income requirements of between €2,000 and €3,000 per month.

The Spanish Ministry of Integration, Social Security, and Migration further notes that applicants must also prove that they have no criminal record in Spain or in the country in which they have resided for the past five years.

Applicants must also purchase private health insurance, secure a place to live in Spain, and have sufficient financial resources for the duration of their stay in Spain.

In addition, applicants must have at least one year of remote work experience and have worked at their current company for at least three months.

Regarding language requirements, applicants are not required to learn a language to be eligible for a visa.

Family members of those who have been issued a Digital Nomad visa can also obtain a residence permit in Spain.

A person holding a digital nomad visa can stay outside the country for a maximum of six months per year.

The application process, cost, and review time

Those wishing to apply for a digital nomad visa can do so in Spain or at the Spanish embassy (consulate) in their home country.

First, applicants must sign up for the delivery of documents for free time. Then, on the appointed day, bring your application form, a valid passport, a certificate of no criminal record, two passport photos, an insurance policy, proof of employment, and the amount to pay the fee.

Although applicants can choose between applying in Spain or their home country, immigration lawyers recommend that the application process be done from Spain.

To do this, you can enter Spain on a tourist visa. While the case is pending, the authorities can extend the legal stay of the applicant, and as soon as the “go-ahead” is received, he can remain in Spain.

Applying for a Digital Nomad visa in Spain costs 75 euros, excluding consular fees. If the application is approved, applicants will have to pay an additional 15 euros to obtain a residence permit.

In general, it takes about two months for embassies or consulates to decide on teleworker visa applications.

It is known that when applying in Spain, the deadlines will be shorter. However, the authorities have not yet disclosed exact data on this issue.

Corporate tax for digital nomads will be reduced from 25 percent to 15 percent.

Where to live in Spain for digital nomads?

Spain is one of the most popular destinations in Europe, and regardless of preferences, everyone can find their own “home” here. There are many cities suitable for digital nomads, but the most recommended are the technology hubs of Madrid, Barcelona, and Valencia.

However, it should not be forgotten that the advantage of the digital nomad visa is that it allows you to work from anywhere, so the countryside always remains an option for those who want to reduce the cost of household expenses.

Unlike Spain, which has not yet officially launched the Digital Nomad visa program, several EU countries already offer this type of visa for foreigners.

This list includes Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Romania, the Netherlands, and Norway.

Fresh news

Related news