HomeEstoniaJoint statement by the foreign ministers of Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Ukraine

Joint statement by the foreign ministers of Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Ukraine

Observing the escalation of tensions caused by Russia and the increasing presence of the armed forces on the borders of Ukraine, we, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia and the Republic of Lithuania, given the close ties of friendship, partnership and cooperation between our countries

Desiring to establish stability and security in the Euro-Atlantic region, recognizing the threat that the aggressive policy of the Russian Federation poses to the entire European continent, we make the following statement.

We express our continued support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders.

We also support his efforts to integrate into Europe and the Euro-Atlantic area, including those set out in the NATO Summit Declaration in Bucharest, and urge Ukraine to carry out the necessary reforms.

We condemn the increasing concentration of Russian troops near the border with Ukraine and on the occupied and illegally included Crimean peninsula.

We call on Russia to end its provocations and dispel all its concerns by ensuring full transparency in accordance with the risk reduction mechanism set out in the Vienna Document and by upholding the principles and commitments of the OSCE.

We appreciate Ukraine’s firm commitment to finding a political solution to the conflict.

We are committed to promoting and strengthening bilateral and multilateral security and defense cooperation, information exchange, countering aggression and combating misinformation and hybrid threats, and coordinating efforts to address common energy security issues.

Source: official website of the Embassy of the Republic of Latvia in Ukraine.

Fresh news

Related news