HomeAustraliaSingaporeans and Ukrainians will face stricter restrictions on EU entry

Singaporeans and Ukrainians will face stricter restrictions on EU entry

The European Council recommended that all EU Member States reintroduce additional entry rules for those coming from Singapore and Ukraine, as these two territories have been excluded from the list of epidemiologically safe countries. Such advice was provided following an increase in COVID-19 infections in the two countries. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), Singapore, with a population of 5.866 million, has registered 2,470 new infections in the last 24 hours alone. On the other hand, 8988 new cases were registered in Ukraine during the same period. Given these data, the EU has proposed new rules on screening, quarantine and other entry rules, especially for travelers who have not been vaccinated or have not recovered from the virus, according to SchengenVisaInfo.com . However, as EU recommendations are not legally binding, each Member State has the right to choose whether to impose additional entry requirements for travelers from Singapore and Ukraine. This means that as long as individual EU member states decide not to impose restrictions on vaccinated people, travelers from these two territories will be able to travel under the current simplified rules. Germany has already decided to tighten entry restrictions for those coming from Singapore, a few weeks before the Council issued such a council. Under the new rules, unvaccinated and untreated travelers arriving in Germany from Singapore must isolate themselves for ten days, with the possibility of quarantine reduction if a negative test is performed no earlier than five days after entry. Similarly, France also excluded Singapore from its “green list”. Unvaccinated and unvaccinated travelers from Singapore can enter Spain only as a matter of urgency. In contrast, persons who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 can enter France without hindrance, provided they provide proof of vaccination and an affidavit. The list of epidemiologically safe EU countries includes non-EU / Schengen countries that are considered safe due to low levels of infection. Therefore, unlike Singapore and Ukraine, EU Member States are strongly encouraged to reopen their borders and allow travel from these countries without urgency. The latest list, updated on November 9, includes Australia, Argentina, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Jordan, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates and the United Arab Emirates. conditions for confirmation of reciprocity). However, as the list is updated regularly, changes can be made at any time. Therefore, it is recommended that before traveling to another country, everyone conducts their own research to avoid any inconvenience.

Fresh news

Related news