HomeLatviaThe Russians were left without Jurmala: Latvia recalled the ambassador and closed...

The Russians were left without Jurmala: Latvia recalled the ambassador and closed the issuance of visas to Russian tourists

Russian tourists can no longer obtain a visa to travel to Latvia, a popular Baltic country. Thus, travelers were deprived of the opportunity to visit such popular Latvian cities as Jurmala and Riga. The reason is that the issuance of visas was suspended due to the Russian war in Ukraine. Separately, Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics said that in connection with the situation, it was decided to recall the Latvian Ambassador to Russia Marisa Riekstins. The relevant statement was issued by the Latvian government on Thursday.

“In connection with the Russian war in Ukraine, I have decided to recall the Latvian ambassador to Russia for consultations, as well as to suspend the issuance of Latvian visas to citizens of the Russian Federation, except in cases of special humanitarian considerations,” the minister wrote on Twitter.

It is specified that Riga has announced a ban on broadcasting of three Russian TV channels for a period of three to five years. “We made this decision … because they pose a threat to Latvia’s national security,” said Ivar Abolins, head of the Latvian language agency NEPLP.

In addition, the Latvian authorities have imposed personal sanctions on Russian citizen Nikolai Baskov. Now he is banned from entering the territory of Latvia in support of the special operation of the Russian Federation to liberate the DPR and LPR. The move automatically obliges the rest of the Schengen countries to ban the singer from entering their territory.

At the same time, Latvian officials said they were ready to accept 10,000 Ukrainian refugees, offering them accommodation in hotels and guest houses, distribution of basic necessities, as well as vaccination against COVID-19 and testing. According to the Latvian Association of Local Governments, the first refugees from Kyiv arrived in Riga on February 26.

Also read: Turkey may be completely closed to Russian tourists along with the straits

Against the backdrop of decisive action, the EU has imposed several sanctions against Russia, including restrictions on visa policy. “Diplomats and related groups, as well as businessmen, will no longer have privileged access to the European Union,” EU Commissioner Ursula von der Leyen said earlier, announcing new sanctions.

At least four other EU countries have joined visa restrictions – Poland, Belgium, the Czech Republic and Lithuania. The latter also suspended the issuance of visas provided for medical services to Russians. Read the full list of countries that have declared a tourist blockade of Russia at this link.

Against the background of the European boycott, Russia’s envoy to the EU Vladimir Chizhov warned that all EU countries may soon suspend Schengen visas to Russians as part of their sanctions, saying that some of them may refrain from such measures due to their dependence on Russian tourists.

Fresh news

Related news