New rules for applying for a Schengen visa

Several new rules for applying for a Schengen visa have entered into force in all countries whose embassies issue this type of visa. The new rules include increased visa fees and extended application deadlines. Check out some of the key changes:

Increased visa fees

The cost of a Schengen visa has been increased from 60 to 80 euros for adults, and children between the ages of six and 12 now have to pay 40 euros instead of 35.

According to the European Commission, this campaign is aimed at increasing the number of employees, providing more stringent security checks and upgrading IT equipment and software.

For citizens of countries that have concluded a visa facilitation agreement with the European Union (EU), the amount of the fee remains the same.

Electronic application form

The application process has been greatly simplified. Schengen countries now accept electronic applications, and the application form can be signed and sent electronically.

Longer application deadlines

Applicants for a Schengen visa applied three months before the trip. Today, applications can be submitted for up to six months.

  UAE authorities have introduced new multiple-entry visas for a period of 6 months

What is a Schengen visa?

A Schengen visa is a short-stay visa issued to persons wishing to travel to one or more countries within the 26 European countries of the Schengen area. It gives each owner the right to enter all countries in the region on a single visa. Successful candidates are given access to the area for tourism or business purposes and are given up to 90 days to stay.

Benefits for frequent travelers

Those who have previously visited the Schengen area and have a positive visa history will be given the opportunity to obtain a multiple-entry visa valid for up to five years. That is, people who have legally used their previous visas, have a good economic situation in their countries and intend to leave the area before their Schengen visa expires, will now be able to obtain a visa for up to five years with multiple entry. .

  EU Vaccination Passport: How COVID digital certification will work in the European Union

The Schengen area currently includes 26 European countries, 22 EU member states and member states of the European Free Trade Association – Switzerland, Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein.

Follow us on Google News

Also read


Iran, China and the EU will discuss the return of the United States to the nuclear deal

A statement from the European Union said that Iran and other world powers remaining in the 2015 nuclear deal would hold a virtual meeting...

The EU is preparing for the third wave of the pandemic

The European Union is at the beginning of the third wave of the COVID-19 pandemic, the president of the European Commission warned on Thursday. Ursula...

The UAE introduces multiple tourist visas for all nationalities

According to the latest news, the UAE Cabinet of Ministers has approved a proposal to issue multiple tourist entry visas for all nationalities. This...

G7 foreign ministers condemn Russia for occupying Crimea

G7 Foreign Ministers unite in condemnation of Russia’s continued actions to undermine Ukraine’s sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence. We, the G7 Foreign Ministers of Canada,...

Last news